F1 Saudi Arabian GP sprint results: Daruvala on podium, Maini 5th


Daruvala says he’s confident he can fight for the feature race win, too, after finishing third in the Saudi Arabia sprint race.

Jehan Daruvala returned to the podium, finishing third in the F2 Saudi Arabian GP sprint race after a tight battle with Ayumu Iwasa and Victor Martins. Kush Maini, meanwhile, finished fifth.

  • Iwasa wins, ahead of Martins and Daruvala
  • Kush Maini fifth

Daruvala third after tense battling for victory

Lining up fifth on the grid, Daruvala made it up to third place after the Safety Car was brought out on Lap 7 due to Theo Pourchaire’s collision with Oliver Bearman. Once action resumed, the Indian driver overtook Ralph Boschung for second place. The two swapped places a few times before Daruvala could pull clear.

It was a tense final few laps, with just a second separating the top three. Daruvala then shifted focus to race leader Iwasa and even briefly took the lead on Lap 15. However, he ran wide, giving Alpine junior Martins the window of opportunity he was looking for.

With just three laps to go, Martin was able to snatch second place from Daruvala. Iwasa, meanwhile, held on to take his first win this season.

Daruvala may have had to settle for third, but he showed improved form since the opening round in Bahrain and he’s optimistic for the upcoming feature race. “The car was amazing. So, I’m confident we can fight for the win in the feature race,” he said.

Kush Maini fifth in sprint race

Kush Maini qualified eighth, which meant he started third for the reverse grid sprint race. Despite losing a few places, he maintained his consistent points-scoring run, having finished the race in fifth place.

The Formula 2 feature race starts at 6:45pm (IST). Fans in India will need to subscribe to F1 TV Pro to watch it live.

2023 F2 Saudi Arabia sprint race results

2023 F2 Saudi Arabia sprint race results
Pos Driver Team
1 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS
2 Victor Martin ART Grand Prix
3 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport
4 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing
5 Kush Maini Campos Racing
6 Frederik Vesti Prema
7 Jack Doohan Invicta Virtuosi Racing
8 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport
9 Jak Crawford Hitech
10 Roy Nissany PHM Racing by Charouz
11 Arthur Leclerc DAMS
12 Isack Hadjar Hitech
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin
14 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing
15 Clement Novalak Trident
16 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing
17 Roman Staněk Trident
18 Brad Benavides PHM Racing by Charouz
19 Amaury Cordeel Invicta Virtuosi Racing
NC Oliver Bearman Prema
NC Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix
NC Zane Maloney Carlin

Also see:

Bahrain GP: Kush Maini scores points in F2 debut

Jehan Daruvala: “My future lies in Formula E”



Leave a comment