2023 Formula E Diriyah results: Wehrlein takes double victory


Porsche-powered cars finished 1-2 in both races, while McLaren secured their very first Formula E podium as well.

Porsche’s Pascal Wehrlein won both Diriyah E-Prix races to take the overall 2023 Formula E championship lead. Porsche-powered cars dominated proceedings, with customer team Andretti’s Jake Dennis finishing second in both races as well.

  • Wehrlein takes championship lead
  • Dennis P2 in both races
  • Rast hands McLaren their first Formula E podium

Porsche dominance

Porsche enjoyed a stellar start to Formula E’s Gen3 era in Mexico, with Andretti’s Jake Dennis winning ahead of factory driver Wehrlein. However, Mexico has always been a strong venue for the manufacturer. The two Diriyah races have clearly cemented Porsche’s position as a frontrunner, though.

After starting from ninth on the grid, Wehrlein picked his way through the field and was already up to second place by Lap 24/39. He made the move for the lead on Lap 30, passing Jaguar TCS Racing’s Sam Bird.

Bird did, however, make it to the podium in third place – his first podium appearance since his 2021 New York E-Prix victory. Dennis had his own charge from 11th on the grid. After overtaking Bird, he took the fight to the very line, but couldn’t find a way past Wehrlein.

McLaren’s first Formula E podium

Wehrlein enjoyed a better qualifying for the second race and started from fifth on the grid, while McLaren’s Jake Hughes was on pole. However, the race ended up being another Wehrlein vs Dennis battle with a late Safety Car appearance bunching up the field once again.

But Wehrlein was able to fend off the competition to take his second win in as many days. Bird looked set to take third place again, but lost the spot and couldn’t gain it back after using his Attack Mode. The Jaguar driving got his braking wrong while attempting to pass McLaren’s Rene Rast

Despite closing up the gap, Bird had to settle for fourth. A third place for Rast sees McLaren secure their first-ever Formula E podium, in only their third race in the championship.

No points for Mahindra Racing

It was a disappointing two races for Indian squad Mahindra Racing. After a chaotic start to the first race, Lucas di Grassi and Oliver Rowland could only manage finishing 13th and 19th, respectively.

Rowland had to retire from the second race after picking up a puncture, while Di Grassi finished 15th.

2023 Formula E standings

Wehrlein leads the standings by six points from Dennis. Buemi is third overall, but he’s already 31 points behind Dennis.

Next up on the calendar is the Hyderabad E-Prix, with Formula E visiting India for the very first time.

2023 Diriyah E-Prix results

Round 2
Pos Driver Team
1 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
2 Jake Dennis Andretti
3 Sam Bird Jaguar TCS
4 Sebastien Buemi Envision Racing
5 Rene Rast McLaren
6 Nick Cassidy Envision Racing
7 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
8 Jake Hughes McLaren
9 Andre Lotterer Andretti
10 Mitch Evans Jaguar TCS
11 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
12 Norman Nato Nissan
13 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
14 Dan Ticktum Nio 333
15 Sergio Sette Camara Nio 333
16 Kelvin van der Linde Abt Cupra
17 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
18 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche
19 Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing
NC Edoardo Mortara Maserati
NC Max Guenther Maserati
NC Nico Mueller Abt Cupra
Round 3
Pos Driver Team
1 Pascal Werhelin Porsche
2 Jake Dennis Andretti
3 Rene Rast McLaren
4 Sam Bird Jaguar TCS
5 Jake Hughes McLaren
6 Sebastien Buemi Envision Racing
7 Mitch Evans Jaguar TCS
8 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
9 Edoardo Mortara Maserati
10 Dan Ticktum Nio 333
11 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche
12 Andre Lotterer Andretti
13 Nick Cassidy Envision Racing
14 Norman Nato Nissan
15 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
16 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
17 Sergio Sette Camara Nio 333
18 Kelvin van der Linde Abt Cupra
19 Max Guenther Maserati
20 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
NC Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing
NC Nico Mueller Abt Cupra

Also see:

Andretti’s Dennis wins Mexico City E-Prix; Mahindra on podium



Leave a comment